Entering the Schengen Area

You will find information about the free movement of people within the Schengen Area in Europe here.

Town Hall and Square with fountain in Valencia, Spain

Entering the “Schengen Area” in Europe

The Schengen Agreement governs the free movement of people within the Schengen Area. The agreement allows easier travel between the Schengen member states. This means there are no regular border controls between the Schengen countries.

Nonetheless, all travellers (including children and infants) must be able to show a valid travel document (e.g. passport or ID card) at all times. Driving licences, bank and credit cards or similar documents are not recognised as valid travel documents or proof of identity.

All foreign visitors (non-EU citizens) may stay within the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days from their date of entry (within a period of 180 days). A visa may be required depending on the traveller’s nationality and the purpose of their visit.

You can obtain further information from the respective embassies of the Schengen member states. You will also find detailed information about entry requirements, passport regulations and the latest changes in specific countries on the website of the IATA Travel Centre.

List of current Schengen member states: